As an Entrepreneur You Should Have the Courage to Follow Your Course of Action

January 2, 2008 § Leave a comment

“Whatever course you decide upon, there is always someone to tell you that you are wrong. There are always difficulties arising which tempt you to believe that your critics are right. To map out a course of action and follow it to an end requires courage.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson

I have heard it many times in my own life. “That won’t work!” I still followed my gut and started the business with only $1000, which I borrowed from a friend. Like any other business it had its ups and downs. But when I look back at the last four years, I am so glad that I followed my gut. I knew I could have been wrong. But I felt that I could be right as well. The particular business I started now has more than 10 branches with a steady cash flow. But the money is secondary. The primary thing that drives us is the mission, “Changing Lives through Learning!”

My business, Power Memory Franchising, Inc., is not free from problems but I am happy to say that more than 15,000 people have experienced the memory improvement courses. We have produced many honor students and board/bar passers.

Expect people to say negative comments about your ideas or plan of action. But do not be moved by them. The worst comments may even come from your closest relatives or friends. Most of them really do care for you and they hate to see you fail. But there would be some who would just be sarcastic especially those who believe that you are not capable.

There are times that you just cannot avoid hearing their comments but if your gut tells you to take a risk do not be afraid to try. Ask yourself, “What is the worst thing that can happen?” Have a realistic answer. Then ask yourself, “What is the best thing that can happen?” Have a realistic answer. You will know if it is worth it.

If you fail at the first attempt, do not worry. You never learned to swim the first time you jumped in the water. Failing until you get it is part of the process. Of course, you may hear people say those irritating words, “I told you so?” Do not be affected. Take courage. Keep working on your idea.

Do you have the courage to act on a plan even if there are people throwing negative comments?

Ed Pilapil Jr. ©

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading As an Entrepreneur You Should Have the Courage to Follow Your Course of Action at Entrepreneur Coach.

meta

