Use the Pen to Target

November 26, 2010 § Leave a comment

“Jake! Now that you are getting the rhythm of how to use your circles of influence to open doors for you to offer your service, I believe it is time that you make your life goals more specific,”  I said.

“Why only now coach?  I expected you to make me list down my goals earlier,” Jake asked.

“Sometimes I ask my clients to write their goals early in the coaching program but sometimes I wait because I want to validate if their passion and skills are truly aligned,” I explained.

“Well, my goal is to be a successful speaker,” he said while raising both shoulders.

“That is too broad.  You must be more specific and you must write it down,” I said.  “And I know you will ask why.”

“Not really.  I heard about the value of written goals.  But alright, why?” Jake asked.

“Have you heard about the Harvard story with regard to goal-setting?” I asked.

Jake shook his head.

*“In the book, What They Don’t Teach You in the Harvard Business School, Mark McCormack tells a study conducted on students in the 1979 Harvard MBA program. In that year, the students were asked, “Have you set clear, written goals for your future and made plans to accomplish them?” Only three percent of the graduates had written goals and plans; 13 percent had goals, but they were not in writing; and a whopping 84 percent had no specific goals at all.

“Ten years later, the members of the class were interviewed again, and the findings, while somewhat predictable, were nonetheless astonishing. The 13 percent of the class who had goals were earning, on average, twice as much as the 84 percent who had no goals at all. And what about the three percent who had clear, written goals? They were earning, on average, ten times as much as the other 97 percent put together,”  I echoed.  “I’ll give you the link before you leave.”

“Wow.  Amazing,”  Jake reacted.

“Write down, what you want to be, what you want to accomplish, and what you want to have.  Be as specific as speaking to ten thousand people in a year in 4 continents.  Or, to earn $8000 per speaking assignment…” I emphasized.

“Coach, I feel like I want to go out of town to reflect on these goals and write them down,” Jake said.

“Go do it Jake.  See you next week,” I said. “Oh, here’s the link.”

*Harvard Business School Goal Story. “Lifemastering”.  Accessed November 26, 2010 <http://www.lifemastering.com/en/harvard_school.html>

© Eduardo R. Pilapil Jr. 2010

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Use the Pen to Target at Entrepreneur Coach.

meta

