Your Brand Promise

November 29, 2010 § Leave a comment

“Hi Coach, may you discuss the three elements of personal branding that you mentioned last week?”  Jake requested as he poured coffee for both of us.

“I am sure you meant (1) Create your brand promise. (2) Communicate it creatively.  (3) Deliver it consistently,” I reviewed.

“That’s it,” Jake replied.

“Let us begin with the brand promise and I think that is all we can cover today,” I began.

“I am cool with that,” Jake assured.

“The brand promise answers, what does your product or service promise to the buyer in terms of benefits or experience.  In personal branding, it is what you as an individual promise to be or do for your client if they buy into your service,”  I explained.

“Is the brand promise the tag line?” Jake asked.

“Some companies put it as a tag line but sometimes it is also abstract,”  I said.

“What do you mean abstract?” Jake inquired.

“Have you watched some perfume commercials?” I asked.

“Yes,” Jake replied.

“Do they tell you about the ingredients of their perfume?” I asked.

“No,”  Jake answered.

“It’s because the brand promise is not the ingredients,” I stated.  “Think of some perfume brands and observe what they are communicating through TV commercials or other ads.”

“Well, one commercial shows a lady walking down the street and many heads turn because of the scent,” Jake mentioned.

“The brand promise is, attention.  If you wear this perfume, you get more attention,” I said.

“I see,” said Jake, “another commercial shows a guy and a girl having a wonderful romantic date where the guy is always close to the girl.”

“What are they trying to promise?” I asked.

“Is it romance?” Jake said.

“Yes.  Romance or a chance of romance,” I said. “The brand promise can be a tag line but it can also be invisible.  You communicate it creatively and you allow the clients or customers to feel it.”

“Feel it?” Jake asked.

“Emotional triggers.  The brand name should evoke some positive emotions,” I said. “When you create or design your brand promise, you should decide what emotions and thoughts that you wish to evoke like happiness, comfort, convenience, peace of mind…”

“What do you suggest for me?” Jake asked. “I was thinking of quality speeches.”

“Please Jake.  Avoid the word quality.  It has been abused and misused and overused.  Everybody says quality.  But you should deliver quality.  That is expected.  That is minimum standard.  But trigger more specific emotions,” I countered.

“It is hard to think.  I believe I can deliver good content and make them laugh or even make them think deeply,” Jake said.

“Then you are the speaker who helps people get in touch with their inner self.  Try to trigger self-discovery,” I suggested. “Not all speakers can do that.  They speak, they educate, they explain or even entertain but few can deliver all those plus make them think deeply about themselves.”

“That sounds cool Coach.  Can I use that, self-discovery?” Jake requested.

“That was from what I observed of you but it was just a suggestion.  But yes, you may use it as your brand promise.  Just make sure that what I described is really you.  You cannot promise and fail to deliver the promise,” I cautioned.  “Think of it some more.”

“Right Coach.  I think that is me but I’ll give it more thought,” Jake said. “See you next week Coach.”

“Bye Jake.  You never touched your coffee.”

© Eduardo R. Pilapil Jr. 2010

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Your Brand Promise at Entrepreneur Coach.

meta

