Values and Success

December 6, 2010 § Leave a comment

“Hi Coach, what will we discuss today?” Jake asked.

“Today, we start a series on values,” I said.  “Values help people succeed.”

“I thought,” Jake said, “it was those who are flexible that become successful.”

“Those who bend their values might reach a certain level of success,” I said, “but it is not without regret.”

“Please explain,” Jake requested.

“I may try to lie to you about what I am selling in order to make a quick sale,” I said, “but that is a big risk.”

“You mean, because if the customer finds out that she has been cheated,” Jake added, “she will tell everybody she knows.”

“She will warn everyone of her friends therefore, her friends will avoid buying that product or service,” I said. “And the feeling of being betrayed may take a lifetime for some.”

“Yup, that’s right.  I know the feeling,” Jake said. “I felt cheated before.”

“Cheating the customer might benefit the liar in the short-term,” I said.  “But it is counter success in the long-term.”

“Because you will not have loyal customers, which is important to any business,” Jake said.

“Right,” I said.

“What else Coach?” Jake asked.

“Cheating the customer is only one,” I said. “Giving bad customer service is also bad for business.”

“Yes, bad customer service shows that one does not value the customer,” Jake said.

“And if the customer feels undervalued?” I asked.

“The customer will go to another who can give better service,” Jake said.

“Right,” I said, “and she will complain to her friends of the terrible service.”

“Negative word gets out,” Jake said, “the brand’s good name erodes.”

“Jake, I will email you a file,” I said. “The file contains a list of values.  Your assignment is to find the connection of these values to personal, career, or business success.”

“Okay, I’ll check my email later and do the research,” Jake said.  “Does this mean that our next set of sessions will focus on values.”

“Yes.  Good values contribute to better life, relationships, career and business,” I said.

“See you next week Coach,” Jake said.

“Bye.”

© Eduardo R. Pilapil Jr. 2010

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Values and Success at Entrepreneur Coach.

meta

