Be Available

December 8, 2010 § 2 Comments

“Hi Jake, let us discuss your research on availability,” I said. “What is being available?”

He let his fingers run through his digital pad.  Here it is, “Availability for the context of our discussion would be, accessible and reachable.”

“How does it work?” I probed.

“As an employee, I should be accessible should my boss have any questions with my work,” Jake said.  “Or if he has any concerns related to our project. As a manager, I should be accessible to my team should they want to clarify anything.”

“How does this apply to you as an entrepreneur?” I asked.

“My clients should know where to reach us.  A phone number or an email should be attainable in my web site,” Jake answered. “And of course, we should reply to their calls, voice mails or emails.”

“What if you are not immediately available to speak to your boss or your client?” I asked.

“I’ll make sure that I set another schedule as soon as possible,” Jake replied.  “But I will try my best to call or meet them immediately.”

“Isn’t it sometimes a bother to respond to all these, interruptions?” I asked.

“We should not think of them as interruptions.  I think that if what I deliver is good quality, then they would seldom contact me for adjustments,” Jake replied. “But if they do, I should be cheerful in my service to them. It just means that they find value in me.”

“That is good insight Jake,”  I said.  “But just an important note, consider the importance, the urgency, the timing, in short, prioritize before rushing out.”

“Right,” Jake said.  “I may be doing something of higher priority so I should take a step back and analyze, formulate a strategy, then approach it cautiously or wisely.”

“Jake, remember that availability applied properly is wise flexibility and wise communication,” I said.

“I can easily adjust to communication,” Jake said. “I will communicate in a respectful way to make my clients or boss feel that I am on to their concern, but being flexible is a challenge.”

“Why?” I asked.

“My schedule is always tight,” Jake replied.

“If your schedule is always tight,” I said, “then it is best to let go of the minor stuff.”

“What do you mean?” Jake asked.

“Immediate family, a few close friends, job-related stuff, and clients, this can be your priority group,” I said.  “Minimize taking on major roles outside.  For social occasions, avoid promising that you will go.”

“Got it. Put enough space in between tasks and appointments,” Jake replied.  “That is a good one coach.”

“It is applying foresight,” I said.  “If there are possibilities of being called upon, then factor that in.”

“That is my problem.  I have so many friends, I keep saying yes to all the invitations,” Jake said.

“Like I said, just do not promise,” I said.  “But hey, a few dedicated friends are better than a thousand acquaintances. Learn to say, No.”

“I agree,” Jake said.

“What happens to an employee or a business that is not available for boss, clients or customers?” I asked.

“You mean, boss and customers cannot access or reach them, or they avoid responsibilities,” Jake said, “they will not be valued by employer nor customers.”

“So many lose career advancement or entrepreneurial success, even if they are competent, because they do not have good values,” I said. “But good values show that you value your customers, internal or external, and they will value you in return.”

“This is good foundation for me Coach,” Jake said.

“See you next week.”

© Eduardo R. Pilapil Jr. 2010

Tagged: ,

§ 2 Responses to Be Available

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Be Available at Entrepreneur Coach.

meta

