Leadership Journal

February 4, 2011 § Leave a comment

“Hey Coach, I’m ready to rumble.  What’s on the menu?” George said as he walked into my office.

“Hi George,” I said. “As discussed last week, we will focus on your team leadership skills.”

“That’s right.”

“What does leading a team mean to you?” I asked.

“Well, it is getting things done through the efforts of others, right?” he said.

“You sound unsure of your statement,” I replied.

“There might be a better answer,” he smiled as he tried to remove the formality in the air.

“I am not your professor,” I said, hopeful to make him feel at ease.  “I just want to understand your perspective.”

“I am still getting the hang of this coaching stuff,” he muttered.

“And you are right,” I said. “Part of leading a team is getting things done through the team.”

“Isn’t that why we hire employees?” he replied.

“Yes of course,” I said, “at the end, tasks must be accomplished.”

“Right,” George said, “but that is not everything, right?”

“Of course,” I said.  “The how to lead the team to accomplish those tasks and the how to get better results from them is the leadership challenge.”

George took a sip at his coffee.  “That is why I am here,” he said. “I want to know the gaps in my leadership.”

“Those gaps will reveal themselves as we continue.”

“I am sure that you will help me see them,” he replied.

“Yes I will help you discover them,” I said, “and help you fill them.”

“There are some gaps that I already know,” he said.  “But I do not know how to change some of my ways.”

“Do you have a list of those gaps?”

“Nope but I think about them a lot,” he said.

“Start a leadership journal,” I said. “Write about the gaps you see, what you want to learn and the leadership lessons you acquire in your journey.”

“Sounds like a good idea even though I have not kept a journal before,” George said.  “I know it is beneficial but what do I really gain out of it?”

“Leaders think of a lot of things and it can sometimes be confusing,” I said. “Writing your thoughts and ideas can help remove the clutter from your mind.”

“So I just write what is in my thoughts?” he asked.

“Yes,” I said.  “Write about the problems that you are facing.  Write about possible solutions.  Write about ideas.”

“Aside from uncluttering,” he said, “what else?”

“Writing about problems and possible solutions can lead your mind to out-of-the-box ideas,” I said.  “Furthermore, you will discover patterns in your attitude or recurring set backs will be made obvious.”

“I’m convinced,” he exclaimed.  “I will start tonight.”

“Good!”

“What do you suggest, computer or notebook?” he asked.

“Whatever gives you the flow,” I said. “The good thing about typing in a computer is that you can write fast.  The advantage of having a notebook is you can draw faster.”

“Thanks for the session, Coach.”

“Your assignment is that journal. See you next week.”

Tagged:

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Leadership Journal at Entrepreneur Coach.

meta

