Draw Your Ideas

February 9, 2011 § Leave a comment

“Hi George.”  I welcomed him as he sat on the coach. “How’s the Leadership Journal?”

“It was fun,” George replied.  “I couldn’t get to write anything at first.  I was staring at a blank page with nothing on my mind.  But when I began, it just flowed. I couldn’t stop.  My wife had to call me three times when dinner time came.”

“That is good to hear,” I said.  “You really got into it.”

“Yes,” he said.  “I have been writing everyday since.”

“What did you discover?”

“I wrote the obstacles that my company was facing,” he said. “Then I wrote the solutions that we were applying, but suddenly I kept writing other possible solutions.  It just came to me that there were better options to some of the problems.”

“Have you tried drawing the solutions?”

“No,” George said.  “Is that better?”

“It depends on you, but give it a try,” I said.  “For some, drawing mind maps help unleash their creativity.”

“Was that your experience?” he asked.

“The drawing gives me a visual representation of the idea,” I said. “It also helps me expand the details.  I think some of the best ideas that I got were from drawing maps.”

“I should practice that more often,” he said.

“Why not draw a map for every member of your team,” I said. “Aside from just giving them tasks, show them how the specific tasks fits in the whole plan.”

“Another use I am seeing is to draw the career path of each one of them,” he said.

“I assume that you will involve them in the process.”

“Yes, they should be,” he said.  “It will strengthen ownership.”

“It also strengthens respect,” I replied.

“Respect?”

“They will respect you more for involving them,” I said, “or just hearing them out.”

“I agree,” he said.  “After all it is their career.”

“Try to draw how their career path and your company’s interest intersect,” I said.

“That makes sense,” George said.  “It would be advantageous to show the alignment of an employee’s career growth and the company’s growth.”

“Map how your company will grow in the next 2 years,” I suggested.

“I already have a plan in place,” he replied.

“Draw it,” I said, “but do not hesitate to draw branches.”

“You mean the different ways that I can execute each branch?” he said.

“You might generate better strategies and options when you draw your plan.”

“Okay,” George said. “I’ll do that.”

“That will be you assignment.”

“See you next week, Coach.”

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Draw Your Ideas at Entrepreneur Coach.

meta

