Strategic Monday, Celebration Friday

March 10, 2011 § Leave a comment

“How’s the team, George?”

“Hi Coach,” he said.  “I tried doing the activities you mentioned last week.”

“Strategic Monday? Celebration Friday?” I asked to confirm.

“Yes, both.”

“How was it?”

“They were not too comfortable at first when we did the strategic Monday,” George said.

“In what way?”

“Strategic Monday is to critique what we have been doing,” he said, “and to make sure that all we do is aligned to our strategic direction.”

“Yes, that is right.”

“Not everyone was ready to speak out,” he said “perhaps they were not ready to give feedback or they are not ready to receive feedback.”

“What did you do then?” I asked.

“As we discussed earlier,” he said, “I pointed out where I realized my misalignment was.”

“Good, you started to critique yourself,” I mentioned, “before you critiqued others.”

“That is all I did last Monday.”

“That is a good start,” I said.  “You modeled it.  I am sure that they will follow.”

“Celebration Friday is a different story.”

“Let’s hear it.”

“Everyone was so happy to share what they accomplished for the week,” he said.  “They were enthusiastic.”

“Good to hear that.”

“Jake shared the positive feedback from his client,” he began. “Andrew told us about a lesson he learned from our competitor.  James closed his first deal.  Maria explored new opportunities.”

“So the atmosphere was positive?”

“Oh yeah! It was,” he said.  “We were clapping our hands after every statement.”

“Continue both Strategic Monday and Celebration Friday.”

“Yes Coach, I will,” he said. “But will it be embarrassing if we critique one-another on Strategic Monday?”

“Critique the team as a whole, not individuals,” I explained.  “Do the individual corrections on your one-on-one coaching.”

“What is the best schedule for that?” he asked.

“Monday, after the team meeting,” I said, “or, Wed, in the middle of the week.”

“Okay,” he said, “I’ll try the Wed.”

“All your comments must be constructive either to affirm or correct,” I reminded.

“Yes Coach,” he said. “I will use the sandwich.”

“Sandwich?”

“At first I will appreciate what positive things they’ve done,” he said, “and then I will give my comments on where they should improve, and to end on a positive note, I affirm my belief in their capabilities.”

“That’s great,” I said, “where did you learn that?”

“Coach, I also read books and attend seminars,” he said, “so I know a thing or two.”

“I did not mean to offend.”

“None taken,” he said, “I was just mentioning.”

“Good,” I said. “I was just asking.”

“Strategic Monday will work,” I said, “just keep doing it.”

“The atmosphere in the office is more positive now,” he said.  “I hope it translates to the bottom line goals.”

“It will,” I assured. “But it needs patience.”

“I agree,” he said. “Thanks for the session coach.”

“I’ll see you next week.”

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Strategic Monday, Celebration Friday at Entrepreneur Coach.

meta

