Love Communications

March 18, 2011 § Leave a comment

“Hi Coach.”

“Hello George,” I replied.  “It has been two weeks.”

“Yes Coach,” he said.  “We were out of town last week.”

“Client visit?”

“Potential projects,” he said.  “I was in Thailand then Singapore.”

“I hope it pushes through.”

“Thanks,” he said.  “Do pray for us.”

“I will,” I replied. “How is the team?”

“In our last session, I mentioned that the atmosphere in the office is more positive,” he said.  “Thanks to the Strategic Monday and Celebration Friday.”

“Any areas that can be improved?” I asked.

“Of course, most of my team members are new so there is definitely lots of room for improvement,” he said.

“Mention one.”

“Their communications skills can still be improved,” he said.

“How can you help them improve on that?”

“I gave them assignments related to written communications,” he said.  “And asked one of them to invest in a business communications book or ebook.”

“You mean those with sample letters like request letter, complain letter, proposals and memos?”

“Yes that’s the one,” he replied.  “I remembered that that was how I learned to write business letters when I was starting out.”

“That is great George,” I said.  “Showing them how to learn communication is good.  But there is something that you should emphasize.”

“What is that?”

“Show them the value of communication,” I said.  “Excellent communication skills opens opportunities for the person and for the company.”

“The value of communication,” he repeated.

“Make them value it as if they would value their treasure,” I said.

“I see,” he said.  “It is bringing it to the level of values and attitude.”

“Right,” I said.  “But I have a question for you.”

“Shoot.”

“Do you value communications?”

“I think I am good at it,” he said.  “I do very well in speeches and I write very good proposals.”

“I was not asking if you were good at it,” I said.  “I know you’re good at it.  My questions was, do you value it?”

“It never crossed my mind,” he said.

“Perhaps it also never crossed your heart.”

He had a look that was shouting inside, what do you mean?

“You are good at communication because you were trained to do it,” I said.  “Now learn to love it and be passionate about it.”

“I get it,” he said.  “To value communication, I must love it or enjoy it.”

“You nailed it,” I said.  “Learn to value it then share that attitude with your team.”

“Got it.”

“Lead them to learn good communication,” I said.  “But also lead them to love it.”

“That is quite a challenge,” he said.

“I know,” I replied.  “Whoever said that leading was easy?”

He smiled as he got up. “Thanks for the session coach.”

“See you next week.”

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Love Communications at Entrepreneur Coach.

meta

